Reviews

Professional Book Review

Dear friends

Thank you for visiting www.aaforagnostics.com

'The Twelve Steps for Agnostics' was published on Amazon on the 21st August 2021.

It recently received a professional book review from

Book reviews of "The Twelve Steps for Agnostics" on Amazon Books:

Spidermark

5.0 out of 5 stars

A very important work on sobriety

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 20, 2021

Verified Purchase

Both conventional minded and religious folks may interpret this book, as knocking an institution that has successfully helped people get well for decades. The program works. It was brought into being at a time when spirituality was very much about God, Church, the Bible. It reached a lot of souls. The world at that time was not ready for the unexplained. The disciplines in the AA and 12 Steps, I believe, are still the catalyst for wholeness and wellness.

In this book Andy has demystified it, taken it out of its religious box and offered an open-minded, honest view of how a spiritual awakening is possible. We are more than the constraints placed upon us by draconian belief systems.

The message I am getting is very much darkness v light. Those that advocate and even appear to get well, through other approaches, haven't even dipped a toe in the spiritual pond. To me, many seem to be on a twisting path. That's not a criticism just a sad observation that the quickest way to reach a destination is a straight line. If it works for them; great! But, there seems to be another path for many of us in this approach Andy has outlined here.

I believe in this book, Andy has been divinely led and the Divine will watch over this book and lead it to its destination of saving souls.

JMW BOOK

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Fresh Perspective

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 16

Verified Purchase

Finally an up-to-date commentary on the Steps based on experience, utilizing the power of the AA principles that will appeal to modern spirituality.

Brett

5.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing insight into recovering from alcoholism and addiction

Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on October 11, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book was recommended to me by a Psychologist friend of mine. I myself have worked as a drug and alcohol counselor for several years and have always seen immense value for clients attending 12 step groups for ongoing support to maintain abstinence from alcohol/substance addiction and live a new life in recovery.

In my experience, the biggest obstacle/resistance for committing to 12 step recovery is a core belief that in order to achieve long term sobriety then this cannot be achieved unless they have a belief in God or other religious figures.

In addition to amazing insight into recovering from alcoholism and addiction from the author's personal experience, the author also identifies the key differences between religion, spirituality, atheism and agnosticism.

I have read many books on alcoholism and addiction and this book is clear, concise and a lot easier for recovering alcoholics/addicts to grasp than many other publications.

Highly recommended

Karol

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read for agnostics in any of the 12 step fellowships

Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on February 16, 2022

Verified Purchase

It’s an eye opener. Andy shares his story going through multiple versions of his understanding of the higher power. It’s a great read and a fantastic story.

I believe this book should be handed out to all agnostic addicts alongside the big book.

Mary

5.0 out of 5 stars

Exciting Find for Practice

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on January 29, 2022

Verified Purchase

As a Licensed Clinical Social Worker I often refer clients to AA and Alanon. Many already are participating. The complaint (resistance) heard most often is about having to believe in God. Even though the program welcomes all, and in recent years even has meetings specifically for agnostics and atheists, the 12 steps are the 12 steps. Meaning the client HAS to accept something in the spiritual nature. This book takes the time to peel back ALL the layers of what makes this program work. The research involved is impressive and thorough. A treasure is found in chapter 18: letter from Carl Jung to Bill Wilson. I will be recommending this book to peers and to clients. Like a nourishing meal, “The twelve steps for agnostics is meant to be consumed in small doses. Digest sections in multiple sittings. Really the book goes beyond helping the addict find spiritual strength from within, it’s discoveries can open sober eyes. It will certainly give me additional tools to help my clients.

George

5.0 out of 5 stars

A very helpful recovery resource!

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 29, 2021

Verified Purchase

I read Andy’s story with great interest. He was a low-bottom alcoholic who came from the streets. His book is about how he recreated his life in AA. Andy’s journey towards sobriety was not an easy one. He openly admits that he had a lot of psychological and emotional problems.

One of his stumbling blocks in his recovery was that he was unable to believe in God or a higher power.

I am also a recovering alcoholic in AA. I can totally identify with Andy’s position regarding God. This remains an issue in my own recovery. His book has convinced me that it is possible to go through the steps as a non-believer. He has made the 12 steps easy to understand, presenting them in a practical, non-religious way. I myself am an atheist; Andy’s story has encouraged me in my own recovery from many years of addiction. I am also overcoming other addictions besides alcohol.

I highly recommend this book to anyone in 12 steps recovery who struggles with finding an effective higher power.

D. Griffin

3.0 out of 5 stars

Good, not great … worth my time

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 3, 2022

Verified Purchase

The author’s 12 Step journey is long lived and real. Best was he remained agnostic throughout his journey … but it seemed he stretched to disconnect “God” (as an intervening deity) in his recovery and, at least in the book, didn’t have a good description of “spiritual / spirituality (and as used in context of his views). Getting ostracized in meetings (AA, NA, and OA) for not marching to the “God” drum beat is real and he didn’t off much help to us.

The variation in his sponsors approach to the Steps was a valuable part of the book.

Jennifer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very helpful alternative

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on February 21, 2022

Verified Purchase

I chose this book to read in conjunction with the Big Book. As an agnostic I find it helpful to learn how I can align the God principle in the Big Book with my own beliefs. It stays true to the original suggestions which I like. I highly recommend to anyone looking for guidance without the typical Christian patriarchal references to God.

Navin

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Good Addition to 12 Steps Literature

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 9, 2021

Verified Purchase

This is a book for those people who have had the God word in the 12 steps preventing them from accessing this simple and revolutionary process for overcoming addiction. I highly recommend this book. You no longer need have the God word or any God concept be an impediment to making good use of the 12 step process which have helped millions overcome addiction.

Bob W

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book brings up many issues besides being an agnostic in AA.

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 18, 2021

Verified Purchase

Great book brings up many issues besides being an agnostic in AA. Easy to read and understand. Highly recommend this book to anyone either in AA or thinking about how to stop using.

Gigi Langer, author, 50 Ways to Worry Less Now

4.0 out of 5 stars

Very Helpful Way to Do AA without the “God Idea”

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on July 6, 2022

Verified Purchase

This book is a thorough and compelling guide by a person who constantly fought with the “God idea“ in AA, resulting in many years of relapses. Finally, he made AA itself (and his sponsors) his “higher power” and achieved long-term sobriety.

Andy does a great job of defining ideas from AA literature and illustrating them with his own (and others’) stories. The chapters on working the 12 steps are especially strong, as they include helpful questions and writing formats from his most successful sponsors. The only flaws are the repetition of his experiences (using the same words in multiple chapters) and the need for stronger editing.

** Definitely worth reading, though!

Anita

5.0 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend

Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on January 22, 2022

Verified Purchase

I myself am not an alcoholic but I grew up in a home where both my parents were alcoholics. I am what is known as "an adult child of an alcoholic." I was significantly psychologically affected growing up with two alcoholic parents. Although now a parent myself, I suffer from a Generalized Anxiety Disorder. It has made my life completely unmanageable. I decided to go through the twelve steps myself. The suggestions contained in this book are helping me make significant progress in overcoming my anxiety.

Benjamin

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very helpful

Reviewed in Germany 🇩🇪 on October 1, 2021

Verified Purchase

I am an addict and alcoholic who does not believe in God. "The twelve steps for agnostics" offers the steps in a practical and easy to understand way. I have found Andy's interpretation of the program very helpful. I would recommend it to anyone in recovery who identifies as a non believer.

Angelo

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must Read book for recovery

Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 10 October 2021

Verified Purchase

I really enjoyed this book, it is very well written and the author's humble approach to this sometimes difficult and controversial matter really inspired me to open my vision to new horizons on the subject of spirituality. I would recommend this book to all those people who struggle with the word GOD, but nevertheless I think anyone on the road to recovery will benefit from reading the author's experience, strength and hope, we all follow one path but the views sometime differ as time passes and we can all grow from other people's experience, especially as good and heartfelt as this one.

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Telling it as it is - warts & all

Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on 8 October 2021

Verified Purchase

A book that gives an incredible insight into the world of addiction - with the added complications of accepting a potential path to recovery that is religious based - while holding no religious beliefs of your own. A real story of the "Last chance saloon" where one has to place their chances with a person that the scarcely know to guide them out of their abyss. Brilliantly insightful from a man who has obviously been to hell and back!